Area Studies

Southwest Area Study Update

Open House Public Meeting 
April 23, 2019 from 4:00 - 7:00 p.m.

Holly Springs Cultural Center
300 W. Ballentine St., Holly Springs

All are invited to attend the final public meeting to view the draft recommendations of the Southwest Area Study Update. Stop by the meeting anytime between 4-7 p.m. The public meeting materials will also be available on the SWAStudy website

To achieve more robust public engagement and detailed focus on specific network issues, the Capital Area MPO has conducted a series of area studies. Outcomes and recommendations from these area studies inform the long-range transportation plan that is updated every 4 years, the Metropolitan Transportation Plan.

Southwest Area Study - Update

The Southwest Area Study - Update is a cooperative update between the Capital Area Metropolitan Planning Organization (CAMPO) and the North Carolina Department of Transportation (NCDOT) to the original Southwest Area Study that will address the changes in land use and transportation in the area since 2012 and serve to inform the 2050 Metropolitan Transportation Plan (MTP). This study evaluates the multi-modal network and land use scenarios in and around southwestern Wake County, northern Harnett County, and the municipalities of Angier, Apex, Fuquay-Varina and Holly Springs. 

Southeast Area Study

The Southeast Area Study, completed in 2017, was a collaborative effort between the Capital Area MPO, NCDOT, and the Upper Coastal Plain RPO to study southeastern Wake County and western Johnston County. 

Northeast Area Study

The Northeast Area Study, completed in 2014, was a similar effort for northeastern Wake County, southern Franklin County, and the municipalities of Knightdale, Wendell, Zebulon, Rolesville, Youngsville, Franklinton, Bunn and parts of Raleigh and Wake Forest.